Again, Lagos Assembly rejects 3 Commissioner-nominees


In another surprising move and in spite of the intervention of Lagos political elders, the Lagos State House of Assembly, yesterday, rejected three of the 18 commissioner-nominees forwarded to it by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, but confirmed 15 others.

The confirmation happened after Hon. Mojeed Fatai, Chief Whip and chairman of the screening committee, laid a report of the exercise before the House.
At a sitting presided over by the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, the lawmakers rejected Olalere Odusote, Mr. Samuel Egube, and Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu.


However, the House resolved to step down the confirmation of Hon. Tolani Sule Akibu for another day.
Obasa commended the committee saying the members did a thorough job screening the nominees, and his position was supported by the lawmakers present at plenary.

Those confirmed included Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen, Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi, Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi, Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola, Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem, Mrs. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe and Mrs. Bolaji Cécilia Dada.
Others were Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare, Mr. Olugbenga Omotosho, Mr. Mosopefoluwa George, Dr. Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje, Dr. Olumide Oluyinka, Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi, Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola and Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa.

The House, according to a press statement by Mr. Eromosele Ebhomele, Media Assistant to the Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, failed to confirm two others including former Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget, Sam Egube, who was rejected in the first list presented by Sanwo-Olu.
Also, former Commissioner for Energy, Engr Olalere Odusote was rejected for the second time by the Assembly.
A new nominee, Tolani Sule Akibu, was also rejected by the House.