Adeleke, four other governors the Supreme Court handed victories


The Nigerian political realm has seen its share of uncomfortable, embarrassing, or disagreeable times since the return of democracy in 1999.

Over the years, the country has witnessed multiple election results contested by opposing parties resulting in months of tumultuous trials.


For this list, we are discussing four politicians who beat their rivals more than once.

Ademola Adeleke, Osun

In July 2022, People’s Democratic Party Ademola Adeleke emerged as the winner of the Osun State governorship election. The zestful politician garnered 403,371 votes to emerge victorious. His win, however, was contested by rival Oyetola and his All Progressives Congress party members on claims of overvoting, amongst others including the meritless claim about Adeleke’s educational qualification. Following Justice Tertsea Kume’s led tribunal declaring Adeleke’s win void and ordering INEC to withdraw the Certificate of Return it had earlier issued the PDP candidate, Adeleke continued to seek justice and got this May 9, when the Supreme Court declared him the authentic winner of the state’s 2022 governorship elections.

Ogbeni Rauf Aregbsola, Osun

In a three-year grueling process that saw Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola fighting for not just justice but for his life and name, the Action Congress candidate eventually emerged victorious. Following former governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola’s declaration as winner of the 2007 Osun state gubernatorial elections, Aregbesola headed to court armed with 100 witnesses and 168 exhibits tendered in his petition before the Election Petitions Tribunal, alleging violence and ballot box stuffing during the April 14, 2007 election.

From his arrest, alongside claims of forgery and allegations of terrorism, Aregbesola emerged a winner. He was declared governor of Osun state and sworn in the next day.

Kayode Fayemi, Ekiti

Following Olusegun Oni’s declaration as the winner of the 2007 gubernatorial elections in Ekiti, Kayode Fayemi of the Action Congress of Nigeria contested the win, appealing the outcome. After three and a half years of appealing and a thorough analysis of the election Dr. Fayemi was declared governor of Ekiti State on October 15, 2010, by the appeal court sitting in Kwara State.

Hope Uzodinma, Imo

In March 2019, Hope Uzodinma was almost robbed of his win after INEC declared Peoples Democratic Party candidate Emeka Ihedioha winner of the state’s gubernatorial election with a whopping 273,404. The All Progressives Congress candidate Hope Uzodimma, who came in fourth place with 96,458 votes, immediately contested this win. On January 14, 2010, the Supreme Court declared Uzodinma the winner of the gubernatorial elections held in the state. The court also revealed that results from 388 polling units originally ascribed to Uzodimma, were excluded from his votes.

Ayo Fayose, Ekiti

Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Ayodele Fayose, had the nation on hold following a suit to nullify his win at the 2014 gubernatorial elections in the state. The losing party, the All Progressives Congress, APC, whose candidate in the election, Kayode Fayemi, lost to Fayose, petitioned the Ekiti Governorship Election Tribunal alleging that Mr. Fayose forged his academic credentials and breached the Code of Conduct rules. This petition was dismissed for lack of merit. On February 16, the Supreme Court upheld the judgment of the Election Tribunal and affirmed Fayose the winner of the June 21, 2014 gubernatorial elections.